24 hour Emergency Crisis

812-537-1302 or


National Rape Crisis

1-800-656-HOPE (4673)

For additional information
view Contact Us



About CMHC family

Community Mental Health Center, Inc founded in 1967 is a provider of comprehensive mental health services, offering inpatient, outpatient, home-based, school, and community-based programs to individuals and families in Dearborn, Franklin, Ohio, Ripley, and Switzerland counties in Southeastern Indiana. CMHC offers services at 19 facilities located in Lawrenceburg, Batesville, Brookville, St. Leon and Vevay.

About 3% to 4% of the residents of the approximately 116,000 residents of service area utilize the services of CMHC, Inc., each year. In 2011, CMHC served 5454 individuals. 

Description of the Community

Southeastern Indiana is considered to be a rural culture. Great variation exists within the region. Dearborn County is primarily considered a suburb of Cincinnati, Ohio. Franklin and Ripley Counties are also mixed suburban and rural communities based on their proximity to Interstate 74. Switzerland County is extremely rural with the nearest interstate highway over an hour’s drive away.

Licensing and Accreditation

CMHC is licensed as a psychiatric hospital by the Indiana Division of Mental Health and Addiction, and is certified as a community mental health center, psychiatric hospital, residential services provider, managed care provider for seriously mentally ill adults, seriously emotionally disturbed children and adolescents, and as a provider for substance abuse services. Additionally, CMHC is endorsed by the Division as a provider of compulsive gambling services.

CMHC is accredited by CARF.

Executive Staff

Tom Talbot, M.A.                                                Georgii Zhirkin, M.B.A.    

Executive Director                                               Chief Financial Officer


Charlotte Ipach, M.S.N.                                       Kelly Stewart, B.A.

Director of Quality Improvement                     Director of Human Resources


Hasan Bakhtier, M.D.                                          Bill Hardy, L.C.S.W.                                

Medical Director                                                  Director of Community Support Services     


Nancy Janszen, Ed.D., L.M.H.C., L.C.A.C.          Kristi Beck, B.S.N.

Director of Outpatient Services                         Director of Inpatient Services


 Tracy Mock, L.M.H.C.                                          Dawn Skaggs, R.H.I.T.

 Director of Intensive Family Services               Health Information Manager


 John McKinley, B.S.                                              Lisa Weber

 Information Technology Director                      Patient Account Manager


Kevin A. Kennedy, Sr., B.A.                                   Josh Shuman, Psy.D.

Public Relations Manager/Admin. Asst.             Manager of Evaluation




© 2014 Community Mental Health Center, Inc.CARF

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Notice of Privacy Practices